We in social:

Our Fellow Countrymen

Witold Pavlovich Fokin is a Soviet and Ukrainian state and political figure, Prime Minister of Ukraine in 1990-1992.

He was born in the village of Novo-Mykolaivka in Novomykolaivskiy district of Zaporizhzhia region in a family of teachers.

In 1954 he graduated from the Mining Department of the Dnepropetrovsk Mining Institute, with "Development of mineral deposits" specialization, and was assigned to the Luhansk’s mines. He began working as an assistant of a section chief in 1954, and worked at the mines for almost twenty years. Half of these years he spent underground. Eventually in 1971 he was appointed as a head of the “Sverdlovantratsit” plant in Sverdlovsk of Luhansk region.

Since 1971 he worked in the State Planning Commission of the USSR, and in 1979 he was appointed as the Deputy Chairman of the USSR Council of Ministers and Chairman of the State Planning Committee of the USSR, and in August 1990 he became the Deputy Chairman of the Council of Ministers, Chairman of the USSR State Committee for Economics. He initiated an intensive gasification of Ukraine, especially in small towns and villages.

In October 1990, he became the Acting President of the Council of Ministers of the USSR, and in November he was approved at this post. And in March 1991, Witold Fokin became the first Prime Minister of independent Ukraine, and served in that capacity until 30 September 1992. December 8, 1991, together with Leonid Kravchuk, Witold Fokin signed the Bialowieza agreement on the elimination of the USSR on behalf of Ukraine.

He received an offer from Mikhail Gorbachev to lead the government of the USSR, but refused. After resigning as the Head of the Government of Ukraine, he received an offer from the then Head of the Russian Government, V.S. Chernomyrdin to become his deputy on the FEC, but also refused.

In 1991-1994 Fokin was elected as a People's Deputy of Ukraine of the 1st convocation, non-partisan.

Since 1993 he is the President of the International Fund of Humanitarian and Economic Relations of Ukraine with the Russian Federation. Since 1999, he was also the first President of the INGO “Luhanske Zemliatstvo” in Kiev.

He was the president of the National Federation of Karate-do for more that 10 years, for many years he was engaged in tennis and boating.

Witold Fokin is a candidate of Technical Sciences, Professor.

Awards: holder of two Orders of the Red Banner, the Order “Badge of Honor”, the three stages of the sign “Miner's Glory”, winner of the State Prize of Ukraine.

 

You are here:   ГлавнаяAbout ZemliatstvoOur fellow members

Мы в соцсетях:

Наши земляки

Витольд Павлович Фокин - советский и украинский государственный и политический деятель, премьер-министр Украины в1990—1992годах.

Родился в селе Ново-Николаевка Новониколаевского района Запорожской области в семье учителей.

В 1954 году закончил горный факультет Днепропетровского горного института по специальности «Разработка месторождений полезных ископаемых» и получил назначение на шахты Луганщины. Он начал работу с должности помощника начальника участка в 1954-м, и, проработав на шахте почти двадцать лет, половину из которых - под землей, в 1971-м году занял должность начальника комбината «Свердловантрацит» в г. Свердловск Луганской области.

С 1971-го работал в Госплане УССР, и в 1979-м занял должность заместителя Председателя Совета Министров УССР-Председателя Госплана УССР, а в августе 1990-го года стал заместителем Председателя Совета Министров-Председателем Государственного комитета УССР по экономике. Был инициатором интенсивной газификации Украины, особенно маленьких городов и сел.

В октябре 1990 г. стал исполняющим обязанности Председателя Совета Министров УССР, а в ноябре был утвержден на этой должности. А уже в марте 1991 г. Витольд Фокин стал первым Премьер-министр независимой Украины, и проработал в этом качестве до 30 сентября 1992 года. 8 декабря 1991 года вместе с Леонидом Кравчуком от имени Украины подписал беловежское соглашение о ликвидации СССР.

Получал предложение от М. С. Горбачёва возглавить правительство СССР, но отказался. После отставки с поста главы правительства Украины, получил предложение от тогдашнего главы правительства России В.С. Черномырдина стать его заместителем по ТЭК, но тоже отказался.

1991-1994 гг. - народный депутат Украины 1-го созыва. Внефракционный.

С 1993 года — Президент Международного Фонда гуманитарных и экономических связей Украины с Российской Федерацией. С 1999 года также - первый Президент Луганского землячества в Киеве.

Более 10 лет был президентом Национальной федерации карате-до, много лет занимается теннисом, водным туризмом.

Кандидат технических наук, профессор.

 

Награды: кавалер двух орденов Трудового Красного Знамени, ордена «Знак Почета», трёх ступеней Знака «Шахтерской славы, лауреат Государственной премии Украины.

 

 

You are here:   ГлавнаяО землячествеНаши земляки